Lambda Eta Omega Chapter 
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
This page was last updated: July 15, 2017
On December 16, 1975, ten members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, met at the home of Eloise Turk.  They were seeking to start a graduate chapter in Gadsden, Alabama. The members were: Thelma Alexander, Yvonne Beard, Mildred Donald, Beulah Harrell, Paulette Lipscomb, Alice Presley, Eloise Turk, Florence Weatherly, Doretha White, and Bertha Williams.  
Next, Eloise Turk was elected to contact the National Office. The group kept in constant contact with Dr. Savannah Jones, 15th South Eastern Regional Director, and the National Office.
On October 23, 1976, Lambda Eta Omega became a chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated.  Dr. Savannah Jones presided at the chartering ceremony. Sorority members from surrounding areas attended. A reception with over 200 guests was held after the ceremony.    

Thelma Alexander                                        Deborah Allen                                            Yvonne Beard
Mildred Donald                                             Beulah Harrell                                             Linda Hill
Charlena Hughes                                         Barbara Jones                                            Paulette Lipscomb
Alice Presley                                                Evon Simmons                                            Eloise Turk
Florence Weatherly                                      Doretha White                                            Bertha Williams.

2015-2016   Michele Graham Bradford         1997-1998  Thelma Alexander
2013-2014   Hilda Burns Moody                    1993-1996  Barbara Jones
2011-2012   Evelyn Yvette Latham                1991-1992  Michele Graham Bradford
2009-2010   Angela A. Jackson                     1989-1990  Mildred Donald
2007-2008   Michele Graham Bradford          1987-1988  Shelia Doretha White
2005-2006   Nancy Ellis Mitchell                    1985-1986  Linda Sue Hill
2003-2004   Nancy Ellis Mitchell                    1983-1984  Beulah Essex Harrell
2001-2002   Deborah Hill                                1979-1982  Alice Bruce Presley
1999-2000   Marynette Watson                      1976-1978  Eloise O. Turk